Finale to Learning Spanish!

I wish I could have made a vlog for this weeks post but my Summary of Learning Project is taking up too much space… Wow! Learning Spanish has been an incredible experience! Not only is it neat to be able to partially speak another language, but because I have experienced so much of Mexico’s culture already, I feel as though I have now dived into it. It was not easy though. Duolingo made the process fun and easier than expected, however, the Spanish language is quite different than English and keeping up with the differences was a challenge. As you can probably guess after watching my previous vlogs, verbs were my biggest weakness. Darn Spanish verbs and their many forms! Taking a week to specifically work on verbs was an excellent idea and I did eventually learn ALL the verbs that I was supposed to! After practicing, verbs actually became my easiest words to say off heart! Crazy right?

Unfortunately, I did not get as far as I had wanted, only making it to skill 4 out of the first 6. I do know the basics though, and because I know a lot of food now, at least when I go to Mexico it will be easier to order tacos!

Screen Shot 2016-04-13 at 8.56.57 PM

https://www.duolingo.com

 

Near the end of my learning experience, I realized that Duolingo had flashcards that you could use to memorize problem words! I wish that I had known about these earlier because I had to make my own flashcards!

Here is an example:

 

 

Screen Shot 2016-04-13 at 9.01.20 PM.png

https://www.duolingo.com/words

(click flip)

Screen Shot 2016-04-13 at 9.01.32 PM.png

https://www.duolingo.com/words

! I am 16% fluent in Spanish! It might not seem like much but I think it is pretty neat! Either way, I have gotten a lot further than I had thought before starting this project. At least I know a lot of words and terms for food so when in Mexico, going out to eat and grocery shopping, will be easier!

Screen Shot 2016-04-13 at 8.57.27 PM.png

https://www.duolingo.com

I want to thank my prof. Katia. Thank you for assigning this project! It has gotten me further into learning Spanish than I have ever before! and to those who commented and encouraged me, you guys rock! Thank you!

 

 

 

 

Duolingo. Tiana Waldbauer-account. https://www.duolingo.com

 

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Ms.Keller

Live, Laugh, Learn.

From Learning to Teaching

A day in the life of a teacher in the making!

Miss Czerwonka

"Success isn't just about what you accomplish in life, it's about what you inspire others to do." -Unknown Author

Ms. Nyhus

"Education is the most powerful weapon we can use to change the world." - Nelson Mandela

Miss Onufreychuk

Follow my journey as a teacher & photographer

Blog, Blog, Blog

It's the story with no end!

